The Indian Parliament

In India the Parliament is the highest or the supreme legislative body. It is a bicameral legislature made up of the President of India and two houses: the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (Lower House of Parliament) (House of the People) make up the Indian Parliament (House of the People). In 1951-52, the first general elections under the new Constitution were held, and the first elected Parliament was formed in April 1952. The President, in his capacity as head of the legislative, has complete authority to can summon and prorogue either House of Parliament, as well as dissolve the Lok Sabha. The Indian Constitution went into effect on January 26, 1950. Only on the recommendation of the Prime Minister and his Union Council of Ministers may the president utilize these powers. 

Members of Parliament are those who are elected or nominated (by the President) to either house of Parliament (MP). Members of Parliament, Lok Sabha, are directly elected by the Indian public in single-member districts, whereas Members of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, are chosen through proportional representation by members of all State Legislative Assembly. The Lok Sabha has a sanctioned strength of 543 members while the Rajya Sabha has 245 members, including the 12 nominees from various disciplines of science, culture, art, and history. Sansad Bhavan in New Delhi is where the Parliament meets.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Neha Nazneen

Neha Nazneen

Hello, I'm Neha Nazneen, a second-year undergraduate student at Jadavpur University in Kolkata, where I'm majoring in Political Science from the Department of International Relations.

You may also like...

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x